A tough lessoned learned in Metagame monitoring

During FNM I decided to test a new deck that I had built on my own.  It was UWR Mid-Range.  I didn’t really look at other decks while building this and just kinda went with some mechanics I wanted to play with.  Which was flying and control.  The original build had Geist of Saint Traft included, but at $30 a piece, I felt that was ridiculous and made some last minute adjustments to the deck.

It did not preform as well as I hoped it would.  I was rather upset with it really.  But I figured I had learned a lot going up against the Esper Token deck, and Selesnya deck, and the one match I won which was super all over the place.  I made some adjustments and looked forward to the Charleston GPQ on Sunday.

Little did I realize that in my lack of research, just about everyone was running some sort of midrange deck.  Most of which included some form of UWR control or a Thragtusk variation.  The only win I had was a bye.  I wasn’t pulling the creatures I’m used to pulling in one of my Aggro decks and despite me starting off well I was constantly bested because I didn’t have 4 Geists(traded for 2, so it was a slight improvement on my deck) or 4 Restoration Angels.  Or even more depressing, I took out all the Thragtusks, and then would have them Supreme Verdict my Thundermaw Hellkite.

So I’m not sure what my plan is for December.  I may make some updates to my B/G exalted deck that seems to never let me down.  I’m still kind of emotionally recovering from Sunday, but I know I’ll be okay.  I have lots of opportunities to look forward to and lots of other things to keep me busy.

Other than that, not sure how much else you’ll hear from me this week.  I have a mid-term, a paper, plus the normal work due.  Not to mention my best friend got engaged so I will be busy keeping her sane as she starts the crazy planning process.  I hope everyone is doing well and would love to hear anything you did over the weekend!

Leave a Reply

