Brewing Some crazy

So Trevor and I have been tossing back ideas on a deck and we have a v1.0 ready. It is interesting because it is once again an Aggro Control type but it is three colors rather than my normal two.

We are calling it Angry Golgari.

Now you ask why we are calling it that. It is simple. We splashed red for no creatures we actually want on the field. Just things to act as a distraction and rile up an opponent.  Just about everything in there that gets used is B/G, but the red is in there for a twist.  Hopefully you will see why in the decklist!

Mainboard

Creatures

-4 Slumbering Dragon

-4 Vexing Devils

-3 Lotleth Troll

-4 Strangleroot Geist

-4 Dreg Mangler

3 Varolz, the Scar-Striped

3 Falkenrath Aristocrat

Spells

2 Golgari Charm

3 Grisly Salvage

3 Abrupt Decay

3 Putrefy

Land

-1 Forest

-1 Mountain

4 Overgrown Tomb

4 Blood Crypt

4 Stomping Ground

4 Woodland Cemetary

4 Rootbound Crag

2 Dragonskull Summit

So if you did figure it out the plan here is to use those one drop creatures mostly as cannon fodder.  If I have to play a Slumbering Dragon, it isn’t the worst thing in the world because who wants to swing in and make a huge dragon for me if they aren’t going to kill me?  Also, I can just eat it for the Aristocrat, then scavenge the 1 red for 3 more counters to put on either her or one of my other guys.

Not a bad plan in theory. It wasn’t too bad in practice last night either, although I didn’t do much.  I decided to draft since so much of the deck right now is proxied out. In between matches though, I played a bit against people in the Constructed FNM and didn’t have a bad time, although I rarely got to finish a game before time was called.  there tends to be a lot of talking when you don’t show up at FNM for a while.

I still need to do more testing and tweaking, so this is definitely a v1.0. Also trying to figure out my best sideboard options.  I have a pile of cards in my head, but since we just finished narrowing down the Mainboard yesterday I didn’t have the time to get the rest straight.

If you want to test it out, feel free too and just let me know how it goes, what worked and what didn’t!  If you have a suggestion leave it here too, or contact me on twitter!

 

4 responses to “Brewing Some crazy

  1. Here’s the deck I’m using with Varolz. It’s been testing pretty darn well, so give it a try if you have the cards.

    Burn After Eating
    75 cards, 15 sideboard
    3 Rootbound Crag
    2 Blood Crypt
    4 Woodland Cemetery
    2 Forest
    3 Stomping Ground
    3 Overgrown Tomb
    1 Mountain
    2 Dragonskull Summit
    2 Swamp
    22 lands

    4 Lotleth Troll
    4 Varolz, the Scar-Striped
    4 Burning-Tree Emissary
    4 Dryad Militant
    4 Slumbering Dragon
    4 Vexing Devil
    2 Hellrider
    26 creatures

    4 Putrefy
    4 Rancor
    4 Faithless Looting
    12 other spells

    Sideboard
    3 Tormod’s Crypt
    2 Gruul Charm
    4 Golgari Charm
    4 Abrupt Decay
    2 Triumph of Ferocity
    15 sideboard cards

    I’m playing Faithless Looting instead of Grisly Salvage because I can potentially get two cards if I hold onto lands I don’t need in my hand, and I put the Abrupt Decays sideboard in favor of Rancor because it doesn’t matter how many counters you have on your creature if it keeps getting chump blocked by a 1/1 spirit. I also recommend Burning Tree instead of Strangleroot Geist because it can lead to a huge 3rd turn attack if you have a full hand of creatures in there. The Aristocrat is a good idea, but I don’t have any so I’m not using them. Also, Dryad Militant is great against control and also gives you another option for a one drop if you don’t have red for a Vexing Devil or Dragon. Another idea for a one drop would be Diregraf Ghoul. Thoughts??

    • Awesome! I love Geist and almost have no trouble getting him out, but he maybe taken out for a Flinthoof boar as I go on. I may take out Golgari Charms and put in Rancor since Putrefy takes care of so much and all the creatures I have an issue with dying will regenerate on their own. Definitely gonna take the cards you suggest it as I playtest so I can swap them out and try them. I’ll keep you updated 😀

  2. I was thinking Flinthoof Boar would be pretty good in this deck too. But what should I take out? I could take out the Faithless Looting . . . or maybe even go down to 20 land and remove the Hellrider to lower my curve. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

